DLSU researchers shine in 2020 NAST awards

De La Salle University faculty researchers garnered various accolades in the 2020 National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Awards, which honors outstanding Filipino scientists for their achievements in research and development.

Electronics and Communications Engineering Full Professor Dr. Argel Bandala earned the Outstanding Young Scientist Award in Engineering, Sciences, and Technology. The award comes with a P1 million Department of Science and Technology (DOST) research and development grant.

DLSU faculty members also earned the Outstanding Scientific Paper Award. They are Civil Engineering Full Professor Dr. Alexis Fillone, School of Economics Associate Professor Dr. Krista Yu, and Civil Engineering Associate Professor Dr. Krister Roquel, for their paper, “Comparative flood-risk assessment of different freight transport development programs,” published in the DLSU Business and Economics Review in 2019.

Mathematics and Statistics Department Associate Professor and College of Science Assistant Dean for Research and Advanced Studies Dr. Angelyn Lao and Center for Natural Sciences and Environmental Research Honorary Scientist in Residence Dr. Eduardo Mendoza, together with Dr. Carlene Pilar-Arceo and Dr. Editha Jose from the University of the Philippines, also received the Outstanding Scientific Paper Award for their paper, “Chemical reaction networks: Filipino contributions to their theory and its applications” published in the Philippine Journal of Science in 2019.

In addition, Industrial Engineering Full Professor and University Fellow Dr. Anthony Chiu received a special citation in the Environmental Science Award of the Academy.

NAST is the highest recognition body for science and technology in the Philippines. The awards program will have a virtual ceremony in July.