Severino V. Gervacio Conference in Graph Theory and Combinatorics (SVGCGTC 2009)

GervacioThe International Conference and Workshop on Graph Theory and Combinatorics in Honor of Dr. Severino V. Gervacio on the Occasion of his 65th Birthday (SVGCGTC2009) will be held in Manila, Philippines. The conference will be held in De La Salle University – Manila on April 24 – 25, 2009. This will then be followed by a workshop on April 27 – 28. Please note that the two activities require separate registrations.

About S.V. Gervacio

Dr. Severino Villanueva Gervacio is one of the most notable and highly respected mathematicians in the Philippines. He has earned for himself the monicker “Father of Graph Theory in the Philippines”. This is because he not only published numerous papers in graph theory, but also because he has “fathered” many of our mathematicians now working in this area; either as dissertation adviser or as co-author and co-researcher.

Dr. Gervacio has had a number of prestigious awards, including among others, the Outstanding Young Scientist in Mathematics awarded by the National Academy of Science and Technology in 1981, the Achievement Award in Mathematics by the National Research Council of the Philippines in 1993, Outstanding Teacher awarded by the De La Salle University Council of Student Organizations in 1997 and 2005, and the Bro. John C. Lynam Professorial chair, an honor he has held since 1994.

Despite these impressive accolades, Dr. Gervacio has remained humble and down-to-earth, traits that endear him to students and colleagues alike. He continues to work silently, teaching his students the beauty of mathematics, while consistently producing quality research output in mathematics, the abundance of which is quite unmatched in Philippine history.

As he celebrates his 65th birthday, we pay tribute to this great man who has contributed largely to the development of mathematics in the Philippines, particularly in graph theory and combinatorics.

Important dates

  • Conference: April 24 – 25, 2009
  • Workshop: April 27 – 28, 2009
  • Deadline of registration for the conference: March 31, 2009
  • Deadline of registration for the workshop: March 15, 2009
  • Deadline of submission of abstracts for contributed talks: March 16, 2009

Plenary speakers

  • Jin Akiyama
  • Kiyoshi Ando
  • Roger Eggleton
  • Ian June Garces
  • Mikio Kano
  • Hiroshi Maehara
  • Narong Punnim
  • Leonor Ruivivar
  • Evelyn Tan
  • Joselito Uy