The Annual Pillars of Lasallian Education Excellence Awards

- 1. The Annual Pillars of Lasallian Education Excellence Awards
- 1.1 These awards recognize faculty members with outstanding contributions to their teaching, research, or community engagement activities.
- 1.2 The awards will be given annually and will be called
 - a) St. Benilde Romancon Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Teaching,
 - b) St. Miguel Febres Cordero Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Research,
 - c) St. Jaime Hilario Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Community Engagement, and
 - d) St. Jean-Baptiste de La Salle Pillar of Excellence Award.
- 1.3 Award Categories and Criteria
 - a) St. Benilde Romancon Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award

Excellence in Teaching as evidenced by any or all of the following: ITEO/peer/chair evaluation, comments and feedback from students/colleagues/alumni, support of student-sponsored activities, effective mentoring, new programs or modules developed, teaching innovations including the use of technology in the classroom.

b) St. Miguel Febres Cordero Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award

Excellence in research as evidenced by any or all of the following: publication in high-impact journals, plenary talks and invited lectures in high-quality conferences, peer reviews, citations by notable scholars, societal impact, externally-funded projects, leadership in professional organizations, contribution in editorial work, creative works.

c) St.Jaime Hilario Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award

Excellence in Community Engagement as evidenced by any or all of the following: Expertise-based initiatives for capacity building and community empowerment, curriculum integration of service learning, contributions that help solve pressing problems of society, participation in government/NGO policy-making processes, involvement in training/ extension programs or other related activities.

d) St. Jean-Baptiste de La Salle Pillar of Excellence Award

Excellence in **all** the three core functions of the University, namely, teaching, research, and community engagement. The criteria are as in 1.3 a), b), and c).

1.4. The University will choose one awardee for each category.

- 2. Nomination Process
- 2.1. Students, faculty, staff, and alumni may nominate faculty members for the awards.
- 2.2. Only faculty members who have taught at least 36 units at the time of the nomination may be nominated.
- 2.3. A faculty member who has received three awards for the same category will be elevated to the Hall of Fame and cannot be nominated subsequently for the said category.
- 2.4. Administrators from the level of deans and above cannot nominate or be nominated for the awards.
- 2.5. Each nomination must be substantiated by the following:
 - a) A letter of recommendation containing a narrative of both accomplishments and Lasallian attitudes/ values of the nominee. The letter should be signed by the nominators.
 - b) Comprehensive curriculum vitae of the nominee,
 - c) Other supporting documents, which may include non-traditional documents such as video testimonies, or excerpts from social networking sites.
- 2.6. Nominations must be submitted to the Dean of the College where the nominee belongs.

Selection Process

- 3.1. There will be two stages in the selection process: College-wide initial screening of nominees and university-wide final selection of awardees.
- 3.2. Initial screening of nominees by college
 - a) Only four (4) nominees, one for each award, may be recommended by each college.
 - b) A College Screening Committee (CSC) shall evaluate the nominations received by the college to determine which nominees to recommend.
 - c) The CSC shall be composed of the following:

Chair: Dean

Members: Associate Dean

Assistant Dean for Research and Advanced Studies
Assistant Dean for External Affairs and Lasallian Mission
Association of Faculty and Educators of DLSU (AFED)
representative who must be from the same college
President of the College Government or their representative

3.3. Final Selection

- a) Only four (4) awardees, one for each category, will be chosen every year.
- b) A University Selection Committee (USC) shall evaluate the nominations received from all colleges to determine which nominees to recommend for the awards.
- c) The USC shall be composed of the following:

Chair: A member of the Board of Trustees to be designated by the

President and Provost

Members: Vice President for Research and Innovation

Vice President for Lasallian Mission

A member of the Institute of the Brothers of the

Christian Schools AFED President

President of the Parents of University Students Organization

(PUSO)

President of the University Student Government

President of the Alumni Association

d) Recommendations of the USC shall be submitted to the University President through the Provost. The decision of the University President will be final.

4. Awarding

- 4.1. Awardees will be recognized during the university celebration of Catholic Teachers 'Day and Lasallian Mentor's Day.
- 4.2. All awardees will receive a trophy.
- 4.3. The St. Jean-Baptiste de La Salle Pillar of Excellence awardee will receive an all-sponsored Lasallian pilgrimage to France/Italy. Monetization of the pilgrimage or its transfer to another person is not allowed. An exception will be allowed if the faculty awardee would like to donate the monetary equivalent to victims of natural calamities or to a charitable institution of their choice. The awardee will receive a certificate of donation from the University.