06 March 2020

TO : Lasallian community

FR: Br. Bernard S. Oca FSC

Chancellor

RE : Lasallians A.C.T. Bulletin #4 : Updated list of countries covered by

travel ban

De La Salle University implemented a complete travel ban on January 31 that covers all administrators, faculty and staff leaving for China, including the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau. The World Health Organization (WHO) recently reported substantial increases in COVID-19 transmission outside of China. In this light, effective today, Italy, Republic of Korea and Iran will be included in the countries covered by the complete travel ban until further notice. Earlier approval made are also hereby withdrawn.

Effective today, the University will also not endorse student activities that shall include any foreign travel, until further notice.

Administrators, faculty and staff are strongly advised to avoid traveling in places with known COVID-19 cases, especially France, Germany and Spain, where there was a spike in COVID-19 transmission in the past few days. Those who have travel plans are strongly advised to factor in the possibility of extended stay due to lockdown, being quarantined in the foreign country, and another quarantine in the Philippines upon return, in making decisions about their travel plans.

For those traveling to other countries, we are emphasizing the importance of following health advisories of the country to which they are going; identifying hospitals nearest their location; and keeping themselves updated with the latest and credible information about COVID-19. The University will continue monitoring the evolving COVID-19 situation and update the community through timely release of bulletins.

We continue to seek the Lasallian community's cooperation and shared responsibility in preventing the spread of the virus. With proper information and vigilance, we will be able to effectively maintain a healthy learning environment.

Thank you.