Resident Writers

Cirilo F. Bautista

A multi-awarded poet, Cirilo F. Bautista holds a D.A. in Language and Literature from De La Salle University.

He has published poetry, fiction, and criticism including Boneyard Breaking, Sugat ng Salita, The Archipelago, Telex Moon, Summer Suns, Charts, The Cave and Other Poems, Kirot ng Kataga, and Bullets and Roses: The Poetry of Amado V. Hernandez. His novel Galaw ng Asoge was published by the University of Sto. Tomas Press in 2004. His poems have appeared in major literary journals, papers, and magazines in the Philippines and in anthologies published in the United States, Japan, the Netherlands, China, Romania, Hong Kong, Germany, and Malaysia.

He is a co-founding member of the Philippine Literary Arts Council (PLAC). Winner of the Palanca Hall of Fame Award, Bautista was hailed in 1993 as Makata ng Taon by the Komisyon ng Wikang Filipino for winning the poetry contest sponsored by the government. The last part of his epic trilogy The Trilogy of Saint Lazarus, entitled Sunlight on Broken Stones, won the Centennial Prize for the Epic in 1998. He was an exchange professor in Waseda University and Ohio University. He became an Honorary Fellow in Creative Writing at the University of Iowa in 1969, and was a visiting writer at Trinity College, Cambridge University in 1987.

Isagani R. Cruz

Dr. Isagani R. Cruz holds a Ph.D. in English from the University of Maryland. He is a Full Professor and University Fellow at De La Salle University where he holds the Alfredo E. Litiatco Chair in Literature. His books include Beyond Futility: The Filipino as Critic, Movie Times, Tatlong Dula Mula sa Southeast Asia, Josephine at iba pang Dula, Jaime N. Ferrer as Public Servant, Filipino para sa Pilipino, and A Dictionary of Philippine English.

Dr. Isagani R. Cruz has won twelve Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for his plays, essays, and short stories in Filipino and English. He was a SEAWRITE awardee in 1991. He has received numerous grants from Fulbright, the British Council, Japan Foundation, Toyota Foundation, and others. He has also been on the faculty of universities abroad including Ohio University, Waseda University, and Oxford University.

Clodualdo del Mundo, Jr.

A Full Professor at De La Salle University, Clodualdo del Mundo, Jr. holds a Ph.D. in Communication Studies (Film) from the University of Iowa. He teaches film with and chairs the Department of Communication. Del Mundo wrote the screenplays of the films Maynila... Sa mga Kuko ng Liwanag, Batch ‘81, Kisapmata, ‘Merika, Itim, Aliwan Paradise, Kakabakaba Ka Ba?, Mulanay... Sa Pusod ng Paraiso, and Bayaning Third World. He has won screenwriting awards from the Film Academy of the Philippines, FAMAS (Filipino Academy for Movie Arts and Sciences), Urian (Filipino Film Critics), Catholic Mass Media Awards, and the Manila Film Festival.

He also has a number of short films, videos, and television programs to his credit. He was an exchange researcher at Waseda University in 1996. He has been the Regional Coordinator for the Asian Cinema Journal since 1995. Del Mundo is at present the holder of the Gocolay Distinguished Professorial Chair in Communication Arts.

Marjorie M. Evasco

Marjorie M. Evasco is a Full Professor at De La Salle University. She has published two books of poems entitled Dreamweavers and Ochre Tones. Her other books include A Legacy of Light: 100 Years of Sun Life in the Philippines, Six Women Poets: Inter/Views co-written with Edna Manlapaz, Kung Ibig Mo: Love Poetry by Women co-edited with Benilda Santos and A Life Shaped by Music: Andrea O. Veneracion and the Philippine Madrigal Singers.

Her poetry has been anthologized in international publications like Frauen auf den Philippinen (Germany) and Frank (Paris). Her works have also been published in the United States, Germany, Japan, Malaysia, India and Canada. Evasco is also an award-winning prose writer, winning Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for her essays.

Evasco has received writing residency grants from the Bellagio Studies and Conference Center of the Rockefeller Foundation, the Hawthornden Castle International Writers Retreat, and was Honorary Writing Fellow in the 35th International Writing Program of the University of Iowa.

Buenaventura S. Medina, Jr.

Medina is a noted fictionist, translator, critic, and educator. He obtained his Ph.D. in South East Asian Studies from Centro Escolar University.

He has more than twenty-five books to his credit, including the novels Alaga, Salingdugo, and Moog, and books on criticism like The Primal Pasion: Tagalog Literature in the 19th Century, Confrontations: Past and Present in Philippine Literature, Tatlong Panahon ng Panitikan, and Ang Tao sa Kwadro. He has also presented papers in international conferences in Japan and Thailand and national conferences and seminars all over the country.

Medina entered the Palanca Hall of Fame in 1996. He has won more than twelve Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for his stories, plays, and essays. In 1994, he was given the prestigious South East Asia Writer (SEAWRITE) Award.