27 SEP 2004
DLSU Newsletter
this week at DLSU-M "Breakthrough" insert faculty news "Greenovation" updates announcement


Alumni beef up La Salle’s Palanca winners list

The 54th Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature proved to be one of the best years for DLSU-Manila. Beefing up this year’s list of Lasallian Palanca awardees, led by University Fellow Dr. Isagani Cruz, Literature Department Assistant Professor Genevieve Asenjo, and College of Education sophomore student Marylaine Louise Viernes, are alumni Johannes Chua (BS Applied Economics ’99) and John Iremil Teodoro (MFA ’91).
Chua, who is at present a Master of Fine Arts student of the Literature Department, bagged the third prize for Maikling Kuwento-Filipino with his entry entitled, “Dinuguan.” In 2000, he was the first prize awardee for Future Fiction-Filipino for his piece, “Kalinangan.”

Teodoro was the third prize winner for Maikling Kuwento-Hiligaynon category for his piece, “Balaan,” a repeat of his feat at the 2002 Palanca awards.

Aside from the awards that the faculty members and alumni received, four Literature Department faculty members were likewise chosen to judge the various categories in the Awards. They are Dr. Shirley Lua for Futuristic Fiction in English, Dr. Josephine Barrios for Dulaang Ganap ang Haba, Assistant Professor Carla Pacis for Short Story for Children in English, and Dr. Teresita Erestain for Short Story in English
The Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature was established in 1950 to help develop Philippine Literature by providing incentives for writers to craft outstanding literary work.

Exact phrase

- Year 2005
- Year 2004
- Year 2003
- Year 2002

contact us

Marketing Communication Office


De La Salle University-Manila
De La Salle University-PSI
De La Salle University System