The DLSU Newsletter online

01 OCT 2001. VOLUME 33. NUMBER 18. 4 PAGES

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us
inside news

9 La Salle faculty earn graduate degrees

Nine De La Salle University-Manila (DLSU-M) faculty members will earn their graduate degrees during the commencement exercises at the Philippine International Convention Center on October 6.

Leading the group is Literature and Philippine Studies faculty Lakangiting Garcia, obtaining his Doctor of Arts in Language and Literature with high distinction.

Eight faculty members from DLSU-M also completed their masters degrees. Receiving their Master of Science in Computer Science with high distinction are Computer technology faculty Alexis Pantola and Software Technology faculty Teddy Yap, Jr. Mechanical Engineering faculty Laurence Gan Lim will receive his Master of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering with distinction. History Department faculty Janet Atutubo will obtain her Master of Arts in History with distinction while Communication Arts faculty Vicente Groyon III will earn his Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing with distinction. Miriam Go of the Biology Department will also receive her Master of Education degree.

Faculty members from La Salle Lipa who will receive their Master of Arts in Teaching are Rosalie Acar and Analiza Dalisay.

Out of the 935 candidates for graduation, special awards will be given to six exemplary La Salle students.

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science major Jan Arman Figueroa will receive the prestigious Brother Gabriel Connon Award. Figueroa served as the College Assembly President for the Computer Studies Assembly and was recognized as the most outstanding CCS student by the College of Computer Studies. He is also a recipient of the BPI Science Awards 2001.

The Student Leadership Award will be given to two exemplary student leaders, Quennie Chan and Annette Young. Chan, a Bachelor of Science in Commerce major, served as the vice president for academics for the Management of Financial Institutions Associations. On the other hand, Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering major Annette Young was the president of the Industrial Management Engineering Society and the Philippine Institute of Industrial Engineers – Student Chapter.

The Athletic Award will be given to three outstanding student athletes. Bachelor of Physical Education major Eva Marie Ditan and Bachelor of Science in Commerce major Jason Jalbuena will be recognized for their significant achievements while playing for the DLSU-M taekwondo team, while LIA-COM major Ivy Remulla will be cited for her exemplary performance as team captain of DLSU Women’s volleyball team.

The Baccalaureate mass will be held on October 4, from 8 to 10 am at the Chapel of the Most Blessed Sacrament.


back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.