The DLSU Newsletter online

01 JULY 2001. VOLUME 33. NUMBER 05. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us


Student achievers receive awards for excellence

Three exemplary Lasallian students were recognized during the Student Awards 2001 ceremonies at the William Shaw Little Theatre on June 27.

Out of ten finalists, Julie Ann Domino emerged as the most outstanding student leader. Domino served as the vice president for activities for the Student Council last year and is currently the vice president for operations.

Faith Jolina Santiago, two-time editor-in-chief of The Lasallian, DLSU-Manila’s official student publication, was cited as the most outstanding campus journalist.

The award for the most outstanding president for the Council of Student Organizations was given to Timothy Teo for his exemplary service to the La Salle Computer Society.

Dr. Manuel Belino, faculty adviser of the Mechanical Engineering Society, was recognized as the most outstanding student organization adviser for 2001.

The College of Computer Studies was given the Peace, Order, and Cleanliness Award for having the least discipline disturbance in the University.

Special citations were presented to the following categories: most outstanding cultural arts group president, Liaa Kathryna Ambrosio; most outstanding student athlete, Ivy Remulla; most outstanding student in community development, Chester dela Cruz; and most outstanding student military leader, Rexmond Chua who also received university commendation for being the Philippine Navy Midshipman of the Year.

University commendations were given to Lasallians who have excelled in their fields: Michelle Frances Cruz and Leslie Anne Patalinghug,winners, Ten Outstanding Marketing Students of the Philippines; Jonah Genilza, Gold Medalist, 400 meter dash, Macao Athletic Competition; Prashant Srinivasan, winner, Search for the Three Most Outstanding Foreign Students of the Philippines; Bryan Christopher Que, Outstanding Civil Engineering Student of the Philippines.

The Center for Social Concern & Action-College of Engineering Abra Micro-Hydro project was also recognized for having won first place, PNOC’s Most Innovative New and Renewable Energy System.

The event was sponsored by Accenture, Procter & Gamble, PGI-Unocal, DLSU-PUSO, and AB Capital.

In a related development, Que was also named as one of the Ten Outstanding Students in the Philippines (TOSP) for this year. In a ceremony held at Malacańang on June 28, no less than President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo presented the trophies to the deserving students from various universities and colleges.


back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.