DLSU Frontdoor The DLSU Newsletter Online

01 JULY 2001. VOLUME 33. NUMBER 05. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us

DLSU-Manila spearheads online syllabi on ASEAN Studies

De La Salle University-Manila launched its newly produced online syllabi for the ASEAN University Network (AUN) during the 10th Meeting of the AUN Board of Trustees.

Conceptualized by Brother Miguel Rapatan, FSC, director of the Center for Education Multimedia (CREM), and Dr. Raymund Sison, dean of the College of Computer Studies, the online syllabi focused on the Association of Southeast Asian Nation (ASEAN) Studies. The program serves as a useful link to the research centers of the AUN member universities.

MOA Signing
DLSU System President Brother Rolando Dizon, FSC signs a memorandum of agreement with E. Ganzon Inc. (EGI) to secure 92 residential units of the Taft Tower Condominium during the launching of the De La Salle University Faculty Housing Project on June 28 at the Medrano Hall. Present were EGI President Engineer Eulalio Ganzon (right), and First Vice President of Metropolitan Bank & Trust Co. Cesar Lugto (left).

Specifically, six core courses on ASEAN Studies are highlighted in the online syllabi. These are Regionalism and Regional Organizations in Southeast Asia, ASEAN Institutional Structure and Decision-Making, Political and Security Cooperation in ASEAN, Economic Cooperation in ASEAN, ASEAN Functional Cooperation, and ASEAN External Relations.

Aside from producing the online version of the syllabi, DLSU-Manila contributed also in the creation of the syllabi content. Dr. Wilfrido Villacorta, president of the Yuchengco Center for East Asia, was selected as the content specialist for the course on External Relations.

Meanwhile, nine member universities of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand and the Philippines, attended the meeting at the M. Gaerlan Conservatory on June 29-30.

DLSU-Manila President Brother Rolando Dizon, FSC was joined by eight members of the Board of Trustees. They were Dr. Dato’ Haji Mahmud Saedon Othman, Universiti Brunei Darussalam; Pit Chamnan, Royal University of Phnom Penh; Dr. Ichlasul Amal, Gadjah Mada University; Dr. Ansary Ahmed, University of Malaya; Dr. Jacob Phang Chee Hong, National University of Singapore; Vu Thi Quy, Vietnam National University, Hanoi; Dr. Phasook Kullavanij and Dr. Pinchan Sawangwong, Burapha University; and Dr. Sirichan Thongprasert, Chulalongkorn University.

DLSU-Manila is the lone private member educational institution representing the country, with the University of the Philippines representing the state university. Currently, the network is composed of 17 member universities from the ASEAN region.

Inside NEWS

back to dlsu home page


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.