The DLSU Newsletter online

4 JUNE 2001. VOLUME 33. NUMBER 01. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us


Board takers mark high performance

It has been an exciting summer for La Salle’s board takers. Graduates of accounting, chemical engineering (ChE), civil engineering (CE), electronics and communication engineering (ECE), and mechanical engineering (ME) hurdled and topped the 2001 licensure examinations.

The University’s passing percentage is impressive, higher than the national passing percentage. This is the third consecutive time that the University’s mechanical engineering graduates registered a 100 percent passing rate, making it the top school in the 25-59 percent examinees category, followed by ECE graduates with 95 percent, CE graduates with 93 percent, ChE graduates with 93.33 percent, and accounting graduates with 75 percent.

Lasallians also took the top places, besting students from other universities and colleges. Leading the pack of new mechanical engineers are John Thomson Ong (1st), Kriznell Ching Sai (4th), Darwin Cena (6th), Jason Cruz (9th), and Patrick Anthony Sy (10th). Those who made it to the top 20 of the ECE board exams are Richmond Sy (1st), Bryan Lee (4th), Nowen Brian Fernandez (6th), Alvin Young (10th), and Catherin Reas (12th). On the other hand, Reymel Barrientos (2nd), Percival Hernandez (5th), Warren Tagapulot (15th), and Joji Go (16th) grabbed CE’s top 20. CHE graduates Gilbert Ong (1st), Melissa Valdez (2nd), and Sharon David (4th) also recorded a good performance. The outstanding performance of this year’s Lasallian engineering graduates affirms the strong engineering programs of the University. Recently, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) named DLSU-Manila as a Center of Excellence in the fields of Mechanical Engineering and Electronics and Communications Engineering.

The University’s accounting graduates likewise showed dominance in the field, almost sweeping the top 20 places. Thirteen garnered the following ranks: Jonathan Quianzon (2nd); Josephine Syjuco (3rd); Joseph Chio (4th); Sandra Caroline del Rosario (6th); Melissa Angela Velarde (7th); Jorge Chiong (9th); Merlyn Reselva (11th); Eleanor Tabirao (13th); Kristine Sheila Manalo (15th); Byron Gene Chua (16th); Deonah Marco (17th); Kathryn Ong (19th); and Alihassan Lucman, Jr. (20th).


back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.