The DLSU Newsletter online

26 MARCH 2001. VOLUME 32. NUMBER 42. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us


11 make it to Star Scholars Batch 2001-2002

Eleven outstanding students from different prestigious high schools will be added to the growing roster of Star Scholars. After hurdling a rigorous screening process of topping the entrance exam and surviving a round of interviews, the new batch of Star Scholars will be given their deserved recognition on March 26 at 11 in the morning. The event will be held at the M. Gaerlan Conservatory.

The following student achievers to be formally welcomed by the Lasallian community as the third batch of DLSU-Manila’s exclusive group of Star Scholars are Ma. Regina Abesa (PAREF Woodrose School), Ramon Martin Bañez (Philippine Science High School), Jeffrey Bernardo (La Salle Green Hills), Chloe Chizu Go (UNO Hihg School), Herbert Klaus Martin Hallig (San Beda College), Ana Margarita Reyes (La Salle Academy-Iligan), Ramon Felipe Rubio (La Salle Green Hills), Maria Carmela Sogono (De La Salle Santiago Zobel), Kathryn Tong (St. Jude Catholic School), Timothy Uy (Grace Christian High School), and Gary Anthony Wu (St. Stephen’s High School).

Started in 1999, the Star Scholars Program is an innovative program that provides an integrated undergraduate and graduate scholarship to outstanding high school students from around the country.

DLSU-Manila to honor student leaders in Student Awards 2001

The De La Salle University-Manila through the Student Personnel Services (SPS) announces its list of qualified nominees who passed the initial screening for Student Awards 2001.

Shortlisted nominees for the Most Outstanding Student Leader include Emmeline Aglipay, Julie Ann Domingo, Jan Arman Figueroa, Gonzalo Go, Kesler Go, Dominic Pascasio, Faith Jolina Santiago, Roy Santillan, Aileen Segura and Paolo Umali.

Other nominees for Student Awards 2001 categories are as follows: Annette Young, Christian Berrey and Timothy Teo (Most Outstanding CSO President); Rexmond Chua (Most Outstanding Student Military Leader); Anna Clarice Alipon, Liaa Ambrosio and Yucel Estrada (Most Outstanding Cultural Arts Group President); Ivy Remulla and Meriam Santiago (Most Outstanding Student Athlete); Faith Santiago, St. Anthony Tiu, Paolo Umali and Jon Zuluaga (Most Outstanding Campus Journalist); Melinda Tongco (Most Outstanding Student Creative Writer); Charles Andal and Chester Dela Cruz (Most Outstanding Student in Community Development).

Winners for each category will be awarded during the Student Awards Night on June 30, highlighting the SPS week celebration.

Now on its 18th year, the Student Awards recognizes Lasallians whose talents and exemplary qualities have been the inspiration to their fellow students, the challenge to their competitors and the pride to their Alma Mater.


back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.