The DLSU Newsletter online


newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us
university postings

Lasallians dominate national leadership congress

Five De La Salle University-Manila students were selected to be part of the 3rd National Ayala Young Leaders Congress, forming the biggest contingent to the annual leadership workshop sponsored by the Ayala Group of Companies.

Emmeline Aglipay, Paraluman Cruz, Carlo Josemaria Rubio, Faith Jolina Santiago, and Aileen Segura will join 65 other outstanding student leaders from the best colleges and universities from all over the country to participate in a three-day congress that features lectures, outdoor activities, plenary sessions, and discussions.

The meet, which will be held at the Andres Soriano Management Training Center in Tagaytay city from February 7 to 9, allows outstanding young leaders to network with their peers and listen to young and successful entrepreneurs and professionals.

Aglipay, AB Economics major, is the incumbent vice president for operations while AB Communication Arts sophomore Cruz is the batch representative of FAST ’99.

Biology student Rubio, on the other hand, is the legislative assembly representative of FOCUS ’99 and Santiago, a European Studies and Advertising major, is the editor in chief of The LaSallian.

Completing the list is Segura, Psychology and Advertising student, who currently serves as the chair of the Council of Student Organizations.

Prior to their selection, the five Lasallians had to go through a rigorous application process that includes the student’s accomplishments and achievements in international, national, local, or school organizations. Apart from this, the process also requires a string of recommendations from faculty advisers, application evaluation, and panel interviews by senior executives of the Ayala Group.

Lasallian Pastoral Office offers Lenten activities

To help us prepare ourselves worthily during the Lenten Season, the Lasallian Pastoral Office invites you to join any of these spiritual programs:

Faculty Lenten Retreat: first batch, March 9-11, 2001; second batch, March 16-18, 2001

Faculty Lenten Recollection: March 14, 2001

The programs can only accommodate 40 participants for each retreat and 40 participants for the recollection. Reservation will be on a first come-first served basis. The final deadline for reservation would be on January 31. Let us take this time to recharge our spirits, commune with God, and prepare our hearts for the glorious resurrection of Christ on Easter.

URCO sets deadline

The University Research Coordination Office is now accepting proposals for research and materials development projects.

The deadline is on February 2.

BNSCH-CW resets literary awards

The Bienvenido N. Santos Center for Humanities--Creative Writing (BNSCH-CW) announces a change of dates regarding the 2000-2001 Lasallian Awards for Literature. March 22, coinciding with the birth anniversary of Bienvenido N. Santos, will be the formal launching of the literary contest. The awarding ceremonies will be set in June.



back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.