The DLSU Newsletter online

15 JANUARY 2001. VOLUME 32. NUMBER 32. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us


La Salle names F. Sionil Jose as new writer-in-residence

DLSU-Manila has named F. Sionil Jose as the University’s writer-in-residence beginning third term of school year 2000-2001.

The writer-in-residence is an academic and honorary position bestowed on Filipino writers who have contributed to the development of Philippine literature and who have produced a significant body of literary work.

As resident writer, Jose has a one-year tenure to work on a novel, which he said was about “a man’s struggle with his conscience.”

A multi-awarded fictionist, he has received recognition from prestigious literary award bodies, including the Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, the CCP Literary Awards, and the international Ramon Magsaysay Award for journalism and literature.

His works have been translated into several languages. Random House of New York has published some of his works, including Dusk and Don Vicente from his Samson saga.

Jose founded the Philippine chapter of the international organization PEN.

Outstanding students to be honored in grad rites

De La Salle University-Manila will honor its outstanding graduates during the commencement exercises on February 3 at the Philippine International Convention Center.

Out of 610 candidates for graduation, two students will receive special graduation citations for their excellent performance in academics and extra-curricular activities. Jek Charlson Yu will receive the Brother Gabriel Connon Award, the highest award bestowed on a graduating student, and Marlon Gonzales will be given the Student Leadership Award.

Yu, a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science major, will graduate summa cum laude. He is the former president of the La Salle Computer Society and Legislative Assembly representa tive. Yu is also one of the recipients of the 2000 BPI Science Awards.

Gonzales, on the other hand, is the founding president of Ad Create Society and sponsorship manager of Ang Pahayagang Plaridel. He is also a Gawad Efren Abueg awardee for being one of the most outstanding campus journalists.

Meanwhile, six student will graduate cum laude. They are: Louella Balagtas, BSC major in Advertising Management; Yvette Chua, BS in Accountancy; Erlyn de Rosales, , BSC major in Advertising Management; Jonathan Quianzon, AB major in Philosophy and BS in Accountancy; Marilyn Reselva, BS in Accountancy; and Melissa Angela Velarde, BS in Accountancy.

back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.