The DLSU Newsletter online

02 OCTOBER 2000. VOLUME 32. NUMBER 19. 4 PAGES_ 

newsletter front page
faculty news
this week at DLSU-Manila
lasallian thoughts
contact us

13 faculty earn graduate degrees

DLSU-Manila marks an improvement in its faculty standing with 13 faculty members receiving graduate degrees during the commencement exercises on October 7 at the Philippine International Convention Center.

Ma. Luisa Sadorra, chair of the English Language Education Department (ELED), and Imelda De Castro, faculty of the Departamento ng Literatura at Wikang Filipino (DLWF), will both receive the Doctor of Arts in Language and Literature with high distinction. DLWF faculty Janet Hope Tauro will also earn the same degree with distinction and receive the outstanding dissertation award.

Pia Agatha Verdadero from DLWF will receive the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing with high distinction, while Mathematics faculty Wilson Cordova will earn the Master of Education major in Mathematics with distinction.

From the College of Business and Economics, the faculty who will earn their degrees are Marvin Raymond Castell, with Master of Science in Economics; Glorife Soberano, Master of Science in Marketing; and Alexander Trajano, Master of Business Administration.

From the College of Liberal Arts, Franchette Mangonon of the DLWF will be conferred the Master of Arts in Language and Literature. Earning the same degree is ELED faculty Noemi Padilla. From the College of Science, Guidance Counselor Catalina Santos will receive the Master of Arts in School Counseling and Math faculty Rowena Sinlao, Master of Science in Mathematics. Completing the roster is Ann Dulay from the College of Engineering who will earn the Master of Science in Electronics and Communication Engineering.

Three faculty members from other DLSU System units will also receive their advanced degrees. They are Danny Cheng (DLS-PSI), with Master of Computer Science; and Antonio Levy Ingles, Jr. (DLS-CSB) and Teodora Salavador (DLS-Zobel), Master of Education major in Religious and Values Education.

Three Lasallians named BPI Science awardees

The Honors and Awards Committee recently named three students as the De La Salle University-Manila Bank of the Philippine Islands Awardees for 2001. They are Bachelor of Science in Computer Science students Jan Arman Figueroa and Donna-Zea Rosete and Bachelor of Science in Biology major Faith Victory Mejor.

The three will be formally awarded and will be presenting the results of their research studies in the first quarter of next year.

Figueroa is a candidate for cum laude and the incumbent College of Computer Studies Assembly president. He was named Best Legislative Assembly Representative in the 1999 Student Council Awards and a finalist in the most outstanding student leader in the 2000 Student Awards and The Outstanding Coeds-The Young Men 2000.

Rosete is a magna cum laude candidate and the executive vice president of CATCH 2T1 batch assembly. She is also the student representative of the Discipline Board and served as officer of Sprint and Student’s Research and Development Program.

eanwhile, Mejor is a consistent dean’s lister and head of the DLSU-UNESCO club membership and recruitment committee. Last year, she was the vice president of Societas Vitae and volunteer of the Center for Social Concern and Action .

Now on its 13th year, the BPI Science Awards recognizes students who excel in the fields of engineering, chemistry, biology, and computer science. The awardees have been chosenbased on their academic performance and their contributions to industry and nation-building.

back | main


HOME FrontGo to the top of the page
This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 4 or Netscape Communicator 4 and above.
You can set your video resolution to 800x600 pixels (16 bit/24 bit color/32 bit) for best results.