National Service Training Program

cwts.jpg


The National Service Training Program (NSTP) is a law-mandated program aimed at enhancing civic consciousness and defense preparedness of the youth. The course is taken by Filipino students during their first year of tertiary education. 

During Term 1, the mandatory NSTP 101 General Orientation is conducted aimed at providing the students a better understanding on NSTP as well as giving them an overview and opportunity for an informed choice for the NSTP components being offered. Students may register in any of the two service components offered by DLSU - Civic Welfare Training Service (CWTS) and Literacy Training Service (LTS)

CWTS refers to program or activities contributory to the general welfare and the betterment of life for the members of the community while LTS is a program designed to train students to become teachers of literacy and numeracy skills to school children, out of school youth, and other segments of society in need of their service (R.A. 9163).

During Term 2, students are equipped with knowledge, skills and values-orientation that enable them to design short-term community development / literacy projects aligned with Lasallian Social Development Principles. In the succeeding term, students spend a minimum of 30 hours implementing their project in areas covered by our partner organizations. These organizations represent marginalized sectors of society including farmers, fisherfolks, women, children and youth at risk, persons with disabilities, senior citizens, urban poor, and migrant workers.

NSTP culminates with a Completion Rites attended by students, class facilitators, and partner organization representatives during Term 3.

 

Staff:

 


Carl Fernandez
Team Leader
carl.fernandez@dlsu.edu.ph

Mark Balderama
Community Service Coordinator
mark.balderama@dlsu.edu.ph
     

Maria Isabel Lanada
Community Service Coordinator
maria.isabel.lanada@dlsu.edu.ph

Marjorie Amistoso
Formation Coordinator
marjorie.amistoso@dlsu.edu.ph
     

Abraham Garcia
Documentation, Research & Tech. Dev't Coordinator
abraham.garcia@dlsu.edu.ph

Marichel Escalante
Formation Coordinator
marichel.escalante2@gmail.com