History of PAARL

(based on the article “PAARL’s Silver Anniversary” by Lolita P. Gonzales, and edited by Fe Angela M. Verzosa)

The birth of PAARL came as a result of the PAASCU (Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities) Conference held on September 18-19, 1972, wherein a resolution to the effect that “an association of academic libraries be organized as soon as possible, and that a committee of five formed to formulate a constitution and by-laws of the association,” was approved.

Under the chairmanship of Miss Marina Dayrit, University Librarian of the University of the Philippines, a committee was created, which included Fr. Robert Suchan (Ateneo de Manila University), Fr. Paul de Vera (San Beda College), Sister Patricia Alcarez (St. Scholastica’s College), and Sister Arcilla Cabula (St. Joseph’s College). After several meetings and drafts made by this committee of five, the proposed Constitution and By-laws was submitted and ratified on January 10, 1973.

The first nine members of the Board of Directors were elected through secret balloting. Canvassing of the votes from 60 member librarians was made on May 7, 1973. Elected to the first Board of Director were: Marina G. Dayrit (UP), Fr. Paul de Vera, OSB (SBC), Narcissa Muñasque (DLSU), Fr. Robert Suchan, SJ (ADMU), Sister Patricia Alcarez, OSB (SSC), Ursula G. Picache (UPILS), Angelina R. Tamesis (AIM), Rosa M. Vallejo (UPILS), Filomena Mercado-Tann (UP).

The first set of Board of Directors held their first meeting on August 5, 1973 and elected the following officers:

President : Marina G. Dayrit
Vice-President : Fr. Robert Suchan
Treasurer : Rosa V. Vallejo
Executive Secretary: Fr. Paul de Vera, OSB

Various standing committees were created with the following as their chairpersons:

Membership – Mrs. Esperanza Sta. Cruz
Elections – Mr. Pacifico Austria
Finance – Mrs. Josefa Manahan
Programs and Projects – Fr. Robert Suchan
Constitution – Miss Myra Feliciano


Copyright©2006. All Rights Reserved. De La Salle University - Manila. You may send your comments to the Web Development Team.