2nd Asia Conference on Earthquake Engineering

About ACEE

"Diverse Cultures, One Common Goal - Seismic Hazards and Loss Mitigation in Asia"


Asia Council for Earthquake Engineering (ACEE) formed


The ACEE2004 International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) together with the ACEE2004 LOC members and ASEP Directors met last March 5, 2004 during the 1st Asia Conference on Earthquake Engineering (ACEE2004) in Manila. It was agreed that an Asia Council for Earthquake Engineering (ACEE) will serve as the advisory council for the future editions of the conference. The ACEE2004 International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) also agreed to the proposal that the ACEE secretariat will be based in the Philippines while the council is its in organizational stage.


The core members of the council will come from the ACEE2004 ISAC. New members interested in promoting "a safe environment in the Asia Region" through education, research, practice, and other activities in the broad fields of seismology, earthquake engineering, and earthquake risk mitigation may apply to the ACEE secretariat. The council will serve also as a pool of resource speakers, paper presentors and session organizers for the conference. The ACEE members are therefore expected to actively support the conference by promoting the said event to their colleagues, inviting potential paper presentors and participants, and soliciting financial support for the success of the conference, particularly for the active involvement of younger participants. Authors and presenters in the ACEE2004 are invited to become members of the council.


The ACEE2004 advisory committee members who attended the meeting were Panitan LUKKUNAPRASIT (Thailand), Ronaldo ISON (Phils), Hiroyuki KAMEDA (Japan), Kazuhiko KAWASHIMA (Japan), Akinori NAKAJIMA (Japan), Benito PACHECO (Phils), Tso-Chien PAN (Singapore), Raymundo PUNONGBAYAN (Phils), Pennung WARNITCHAI (Thailand), Salvador REYES (Phils), Renato SOLIDUM, Jr. (Phils), Fumio YAMAZAKI (Japan), and Yuan-Sen YANG (Taiwan).


Also present were members of the ACEE2004 LOC : Andres W.C. ORETA (ACEE 2004 Technical Committee Chair), Joseph R.I. MANALO (ASEP Secretary), Tony PIMENTEL, Rolex MARZAN, Willy LOPEZ, Rico GOMEZ, Danny DOMINGO and Ferdinand BRIONES.

International Scientific Advisory Committee (ACEE 2004)

New Members of the Asia Council for Earthquake Engineering (ACEE)

A member of the ACEE:

Be a member of the Asia Council on Earthquake Engineering (ACEE). E-mail the following information to asep_acee2006@yahoo.com

  1. First Name, M.I., Surname
  2. Position, Institution, Address
  3. E-mail Address, Tel. and Fax No.
  4. Field of Work/Research Interests/Title of Recent Publications


This is best viewed with MS Internet Explorer 6 and above.
You may send your comments to the Web Development Team.
Copyright© 2004 . All Rights Reserved. De La Salle University-Manila