Department Faculty list

Benjamin N. Muego


Download: Curriculum Vitae

An American of Filipino descent, Professor Benjamin N Muego has lived in the United States for most of his adult life and taught at various universities both in the United States and abroad, including Lincoln Land Community College, Illinois State University, Cleveland State University, University of the Philippines-Cebu (as a Fulbright Visiting Scholar), University of the Philippines-Diliman, Hanoi National University of Education, De La Salle University-Manila, Ateneo de Manila University-Loyola Schools and Bowling Green State University (BGSU) where he was  a tenured Professor of Political Science and Asian Studies from 1990 until his retirement in 2010. 


The Spectator Society: The Philippines Under Martial Rule (Ohio University Press, 1988),
American Government: A Basic Text for Non-Majors (Kendall/Hunt Publishing Company, 2009),
The Philippines: A Self-Study (National Foreign Affairs Training Center, 2011) and more than two dozen refereed journal articles and book chapters in various Political Science and Asian Studies anthologies.


Professor Muego is a former Fulbright Scholar (1986-87), East-West Center Fellow in International Relations (1990-91) and a Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies in Singapore (1978-79).  Professor Muego received his AB in Political Science from the University of the Philippines-Diliman (1969), his MA in Political Science from Kansas State University (1971) and his PhD, also in Political Science, from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale (1976).  Professor Muego is fluent in three Philippine languages (Tagalog, Ilocano and Cebuano), is a life-time member of the Fulbright Association, East-West Center Association, Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society, Delta Theta Phi National Law Fraternity and the Alpha Phi Beta (Association of Philippine Barristers) and served as Chair of BGSU’s Faculty Senate on two separate occasions (1993-94; 2002-03) and was honored by BGSU with its Distinguished Faculty Service Award in 2004.